IIT-H and RIKEN-AIP Joint Workshop on

Machine Learning and Applications

March 15 and 16, 2019 at IIT, Hyderbad (India)
Contact: Vineeth N Balasubramanian (IITH), Srijith PK (IITH), Emtiyaz Khan (RIKEN AIP)
Information Program List of Participants



The goal of this workshop is facilitate collaboration between RIKEN-AIP and IITH.


All talks will be in "Auditorium Block-A".


All talks will be in "Auditorium Block-A" and poster session will be at "Atrium Block-A".

March 15, 2019

  • Session I
      • 11:30-11:50 Welcome and MoU signing
      • 11:50-12:10 Masashi Sugiyama (RIKEN), Weakly Supervised Learning
      • 12:10-12:30 Tomasz Rutkowski (RIKEN), Brain Correlates of Task-load and Dementia Elucidation with Tensor Machine Learning
      • 12:30-12:50 CV Jawahar (Invited), Computer Vision for Sports
  • Session II
    • 14:10-14:30 Tatsuya Harada (RIKEN), Knowledge Transfer for Visual Recognition
    • 14:30-14:50 Dinesh Babu J (Invited), Applied human behavior tracking and perception
    • 14:50-15:10 C Krishna Mohan (IITH), Representation Learning For Action Recognition
    • 15:10-15:30 Vineeth N Balasubramanian (IITH), Zero-shot Task Transfer
  • 15:30-16:30 Posters (Atrium Block-A)
  • Session III
    • 16:30-16:50 Maunendra Sankar Desarkar (IITH), Event Recommendation from Social Media
    • 16:50-17:10 Chao Li (RIKEN), Exact Matrix Completion with Multiple Linear Transformations
    • 17:10-17:30 Sparsh Mittal (IITH), Hardware Acceleration of Autonomous Driving
    • 17:30-17:50 Jill-Jênn Vie (RIKEN), Knowledge Tracing Machines:Predicting and Optimizing Human Learning

March 16, 2019

  • Session IV
      • 10:00-10:20 Chandra Sekhar Seelamantula (Invited), TBD (Deep Learning, Signal Processing)
      • 10:20-10:40 K Sri Rama Murty (IITH), Unsupervised Speech Signal-to-Symbol Transformation for Zero Resource Speech Processing
      • 10:40-11:00 Sumohana C (IITH), Generating Image Distortion Maps Using Convolutional Autoencoders with Application to No Reference Image Quality Assessment
    • 11:00-11:50 Posters (Atrium Block-A)
    • Session V
        • 11:50-12:10 Piyush Rai (Invited), Probabilistic Models for Zero-Shot Learning
        • 12:10-12:30 Emtiyaz Khan (RIKEN), Fast Computation of Uncertainty in Deep Learning
        • 12:30-12:50 Srijith PK (IITH), Convolutional Deep Gaussian Processes
    • Session VI
      • 14:10-14:30 Osamu Sakura (RIKEN), Cultural aspects of public attitudes towards AI/robot
      • 14:30-14:50 Shantanu Desai (IITH), Statistics, Data mining and machine learning in Astrophysics
      • 14:50-15:10 Hiromi Arai (RIKEN), Privacy-preseving Anomaly Detection
      • 15:10-15:30 Workshop Organizers, Organizers' Summary and Collaboration Action Items

List of Participants

RIKEN-AIP (names in no particular order)

  1. Masashi Sugiyama (Weakly supervised learning)
  2. Tomasz Rutkowski (Brain-computer interface; ML for signal processing)
  3. Bahareh Kalantar (ML for disaster application)
  4. Dinesh Singh (Scalable ML, computer vision)
  5. Chao Li (Matrix/Tensor factorization and linear inverse problem)
  6. Ming Hou (tensor decomposition for deep multitask learning)
  7. Ryuichiro Hataya (Deep meta learning)
  8. Osamu Sakura (cultural and social studies of AI/robotics)
  9. Tanuj Aasawat (HPC, large scale graph processing)
  10. Anand Subramanian (Bayesian deep learning)
  11. Isao Ishikawa (Dynamical system, RKHS, machine learning)
  12. Tatsuya Harada (Computer Vision)
  13. Jill-Jênn Vie (Matrix factorization, deep generative models, educational data mining)
  14. Masahiro Ikeda (Spectral clustering, Dynamical system, Machine learning)
  15. Emtiyaz Khan (Approximate Bayesian Inference, Bayesian deep learning)


  1. C Krishna Mohan (Video Analytics)
  2. Vineeth N Balasubramanian (Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Causality)
  3. Srijith P. K. (Machine learning, Bayesian learning, Deep learning)
  4. K Sri Rama Murty (Acoustic impulse response, Independent component analysis)
  5. Sumohana S. (No reference image quality assessment, Autoencoders, Distortion maps)
  6. Maunendra Sankar Desarkar (Information Retrieval, data mining)
  7. Sparsh Mittal (architectures for machine learning, neural network accelerators)
  8. Shantanu Desai (Astrophysical data analysis)

Invited Speakers

  1. Dinesh Babu Jayagopi (IIIT Bangalore, India)
  2. Chandra Sekhar Seelamantula (IISc Bangalore, India)
  3. Piyush Rai (IIT Kanpur, India)
  4. C.V. Jawahar (IIIT Hyderabad, India)